About Us

Elise LeNoir Morris (1916-2016) founded the Drexel Society, a national lay Catholic service organization, in 1978. She chose to name and dedicate the organization to Saint Katherine Drexel, founder of Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament.


The members of this organization are Catholic women who render service to the church and humanity by observing our motto of “Service, Love, Dedication, Sacrifice, and Devotion.” The Drexel Society Inc. Our colors are Silver and Gold. Our symbolic flower is a Pink Rose.


The Drexel Society, a National Corporate Service Organization, founded on October 14, 1978, chartered the first chapter in Houston, Texas on December 1, 1981. Subsequently, the following chapters were established.

Each chapter creates, develops and adopts their own interventions in order to serve their communities. These Chapters also work with leaders of all walks of life to enhance quality for people of all ages.

  • Houston Chapter, Houston, TX  [Established October 14, 1978]
  • Mobile Chapter, Mobile, AL, [Established January 1, 1985]

  • St. Martinsville Chapter, St. Martinville, LA, [Established January 12, 1985]

  • New Iberia Chapter, New Iberia, LA [Established January 12, 1985]

  • Barrett Station, Barrett Station, TX [Established June 10, 1990]

  • Broussard Chapter, Lafayette, LA [Established March 9, 1981]

  • Prichard Chapter, Mobile, AL [Established August 8, 1997]

  • North Houston Chapter, Houston, TX [Established October 4, 2002]

  • Raywood Chapter, Raywood, TX [Established October 5, 2004] – DEFUNCT

  • Port Arthur Chapter, Port Arthur, TX [Established October 1, 2010] – DEFUNCT

  • Four Corners Chapter, Jeanerette, LA [Established October 10, 1998] – DEFUNCT

  • Breaux Bridge Chapter, Breaux Bridge, LA [Established

The First Convention was held in 1986 in Houston, Texas. Conventions are held biennially. On October 4, 1986, an affiliate group joined The Drexel Society Family under the leadership of the late, Paul Matthews, namely The Drexel Squires. These Catholic men choose to dedicate themselves to serve in the same manner as the Catholic women.

National Projects

National Projects Launched in 1990

At the 1990 Convention the first National Project was initiated and completed; for the sick and infirm Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament, a contribution given in the amount of $17,227.35. SEE HOME PAGE

Affliate Group

On October 4, 1986, an affiliate group joined the Drexel Society Family, The Drexel Squires. These Catholic men have chosen to dedicate themselves to service in the same manner as the members of the Drexel Society.

Scroll to Top